Cooking with the Senior Section

Our second meeting dawned and we had four people attend, so we are slowly growing. They had decided they wanted to make spaghetti bolognese and I reckoned that that was a bit too easy so I decided to add a bit of a challenge.

I gave them a recipe to cook it from scratch, a jar of sauce and a ready meal. They had to make each of them, taste them, price them and decide which was best!

It was a good exercise, especially considering that many of them will be heading off to uni in the future, I just didn’t expect it to take so long! I tried to stay out of the way and let them get on with it but I did have to step in when I smelt burning. Thank goodness it was only a bit of sauce on the bottom of the pan.

Overall, they hated the ready meal, and had a toss up with the jar and from scratch. We also tried fresh spaghetti and dried, the dried was miles better.

It took them three hours to cook, eat and clear up, I have no idea how. It takes me half an hour. But they had fun and got chatting and that’s good 🙂

We finished up by doing an A-Z of activities that we might like to do. I’m not sure how to get them to step up and start planning things themselves but I’m willing to keep trying.

 

Leave a Reply

