Patrol Night Roses and Leaving

It was my last night at my Guide Unit in Northern Ireland as I have moved to England to Anglia. This night was being ran by the Roses, they asked to move their evening up so I could see it. We had been chatting and I had hoped that I had convinced them to run a badge that evening, either the confectioners or agility badge, but it appears that my powers of persuasion were sadly lacking and they had a bit of a mixture evening instead.

There was cupcake decorating, again and they took a group in at a time, they seemed to enjoy that, lots of sweets to eat. They tried to set up a stalking game with tables on their sides and someone sitting in the dark on a chair with a torch and a set of keys in front of them. The aim was for people to creep forward quietly and grab the keys without the person on the chair turning the light on them. Turns out our hall is nowhere near dark enjoy for this to happen, however it still entertained them for at least half an hour.

We did have to stop them at the start of the game though, they had set the tables up in such a way that the guides would be moving straight into the table legs!

I worked out that I was supposed to stay out of the kitchen that evening. The Guides and Rangers decorated a cake and some biscuits for me. They had also got me a mug, picture frame, stress bear and friendship badge to say thank you. In turn I gave each of them a UK contingent moot fundraising badge as a gift.

I even got a card from my DC, Clove, thanking me for my contribution to my unit and the district which really cheered me up.

Leave a Reply

