Promise, Laws and Guides During the War

To start with, we split the promise into 4, one part per patrol and asked the patrols to make a poster:

  • To be true to myself
  • To develop my beliefs
  • To serve my Queen and my community
  • To help other people

This worked moderately well, some patrols were struggling to work together but one produced a really nice bubble thoughts poster.

I got a box of Celebrations, gave each patrol a list of the laws and six different sweets and asked them to match the sweet to the law. This was a brilliant exercise, the Guides really talked about the laws in depth and came up with some great ideas.

  • A Guide is honest, reliable and can be trusted
  • A Guide is helpful and uses her time and abilities wisely
  • A Guide faces challenge and learns from her experiences
  • A Guide is a good friend and a sister to all Guides
  • A Guide is polite and considerate
  • A Guide respects all living things and takes care of the world around her

My favourite match was a twix for, A Guide is a good friend and a sister to all Guides because there is two in a packet. A good runner up was Galaxy for, A Guide respects all living things and takes care of the world around her.

We then asked the Guides to put them in order of importance.

I set up a wide game for the Promise, each word of the promise was written on a sticky label and attached to a glow stick and then hidden around the church grounds. Set the Guides free to find them as quickly as possible and place them in the correct order.

To finish off our couple of weeks of promise and law work, I sat the Guides down and talked about how the Girl Guides won the war. I read the book and wanted to pass on some of the stuff I learnt to my Guides.

I started by asking them what they knew about the world wars, they told me about the Blitz and I replied saying, the Guides taught people how to cook outdoors on Blitz cookers made of bricks from destroyed houses.

They mentioned Auschwitz and the concentration camps and I told them the Guides were there. They had secret patrols and one girl hid her promise badge in her mouth while they were searched because it meant so much to her. There was a school in China, all of the pupils were interned and the teachers kept them occupied with their schoolwork, Scouting and Guides.

Guides volunteered as as nurses, they ran homes for evacuated children and ran messages for the war office. In Poland they helped run the underground railway and several were executed for refusing to give up other Guides.

These Guides kept their Promise through extremely tough conditions, it meant a lot to them and I wanted my Guides to have an insight into what this promise is about.

Leave a Reply

