Guides of Nepal

After getting back into Guiding I joined GirlGuiding UK’s Facebook page and started to discover things about Guiding that I never knew, for instance, I had never heard of WAGGGS (World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts) and I’m a little ashamed that I didn’t know about it before. I quickly added them on Facebook as well and explored the world of Guiding.

On the 25th April 2015, Nepal was struck with an earthquake and multiple aftershocks. Over 8000 people were killed and 21000 injured. The world looked on in horror and tried to help where they could.

The Guides and Scouts of Nepal stepped up right away, some of these people were the same age as my Guides and I stood in shock at what they were doing. They set up First Aid centres, they rescued people and belongings from unsteady buildings. They set up food kitchens and provided essential supplies.

I would hope that Guides in the UK would be able to step up just as well in the case of a national emergency but I’m not sure my Guides would have the skills. However, Guiding gives you sisters all over the world and our sisters needed our help. The Nepal Scouts and Guides were asking for donations for them to be able to keep helping people.

I asked my Guides if they wanted to help and each of them stepped up to the mark and I was very proud of them. We held a coffee evening and invited church members, other Guide packs and the Beavers parents (They run at the same time as us), The Brownie Packs raised some money to donate as well.

To help us raise a little more, we ran a name the teddy bear competition and sent the Guides around school and family. I wanted to help, but I work with a pile of men, so I put together a “Guess the number of Sweets in the Jar” competition.

Through a lot of hard work, we raised £460 to help the Guides and Scouts of Nepal and I hope that they used the money well and I hope it helped, even in a small way.

I always feel awkward asking for money but to be honest, this was one time when I felt I was so close to the cause that I didn’t feel awkward.

https://www.wagggs.org/en/news/updates-nepal-april-may-2015/

Leave a Reply

